The Israeli Opera Tel-Aviv-Yafo
Upper bar Skip Upper bar
עב عر

    Lee Weiss Shirit, director

    Lee Weiss Shirit, director


    Shirit Lee Weiss was born in Israel. She directed two musicals in the Musical Festival in Bat Yam, both of which won the first prize in the festival: Greta and the Space Race (Yonathan Cnaan and Valeria Zalikovski) in 2014 and Goldi’s Bra (Aviv Koren) in 2015. For the Haifa Symphony Orchestra she directed Die Zauberflote (Mozart), Troubles in Tahiti (Bernstein) and The Telephone (Menotti). For the Israel Sinfonietta Beer Sheva she directed Il barbiere di Siviglia (Rossini) and Die Fledermaus (J. Strauss). At the Buchman-Mehta School of Music of the Tel Aviv University she directed Die lustige Witwe (Lehar) ad Die Fledermaus (J. Strauss). At the Jerusalem Academy for Music and Dance she directed La finta giardiniera (Mozart) and Gulio Sabino (Sarti). For the Fringe Opera in Tel Aviv she directed Ba-ta-clan (Offenbach) and the world premiere of Mothers (David Sebba). She directed Pierrot Lunaire (Schoenberg) for the Jerusalem International Chamber Music Festival. In the USA she directed Don Pasquale (Donizetti), Down in the Valley (Weill) and Comedy on the Bridge (Martinu). She has directed many productions for the Israeli Opera’s Meitar Opera Studio including Don Pasquale (Donizetti), Werther (Massenet), The Medium and The Telephone (Menotti), Die Fledermaus (J. Strauss), The Story of Romeo and Juliet (Bellini, Gounod, Bernstein) and Don Giovanni, Le nozze di Figaro and The Impresario (Mozart).

    At the Israeli Opera she directed:

    Il barbiere di Siviglia (2022-2024) - Hebrew

    Hanoch Levin - The Opera (2024) - February

    What about the Deer? (2018-2023)

    Requiem (2023)

    The Medium (2022)
    Mothers (2021)

    The Medium (2021)

    Die Zauberflöte (2012-2020) - community production

    Die Entfuhrung aus dem Serail in Akko (2016)

    Opera Fairy tales family production (2013-2015)
    La Cenerentola community production (2010-2011)
    Duke Bluebeard’s Castle (2010)

    Jump to page content